MT State Champs: Zach Perrin nabs elusive title in Class AA, Bozeman sweeps team titles

2012 Montana State Cross Country Championships


Class AA Boys

Perrin leads the charge with Peterman in pursuit in Class AA.

Zach Perrin (Flathead) raced well when it mattered and came away with a state title, beating out several talented runners in the process.  Zach crossed the line in 15:08.70, 9 seconds ahead of Adam Peterman of Missoula Hellgate in 15:17.60.  Troy Fraley (Glacier) finished 3rd with a time of 15:25.00.  Bozeman took the team crown with 56 points and an impressive spread of 42 seconds.  Missoula Hellgate was the runner-up with 97 points and Billings West nabbed the last podium spot with 125 points.  

Zach Perrin added the following statement about his senior year of XC in Montana: "The season was fantastic! It meant everything to be able to represent my school and the flathead tradition and end the fhs xc career with a win. I'd like to say thank you to my fantastic team, coaches, family and friends. God is good and he has blessed me with so many great things in life, i just feel so fortunate for the position that i am in right now".


Class AA Girls

Paige Gilchrist (Missoula Hellgate) dominated with a winning time of 17:47.00, 51 seconds ahead of runner-up Rachel Jones (Billings West) in 18:38.10.  Sabrina Sterbis (Missoula Big Sky) was 3rd with a time of 18:55.70.  Bozeman completed the AA team sweep by winning with 55 points.  Billings West was 2nd with 72 points and Billings Senior was 3rd with 95 points.  


Class A Boys

Layne Lantis (Dawson County) took top honors with a time of 16:01.60 over Tyler Mogan (Laurel) in 16:02.20.  Jonathan Eastwood (Belgrade) was 3rd with a time of 16:09.60.  Whitefish won the team title with 96 points over Hamilton with 108.  Fergus finished 3rd with 131 points.


Class A Girls

Sadi Henderson (Corvallis) took the individual title with a time of 18:37.60 and Dalainy Tedesco (Fergus) was 2nd in 19:17.60.  Kaycie Stewart rounded out the top-3 with a time of 19:33.50.  Corvallis defeated Fergus in team action by a score of 56 to 79.  Laurel was 3rd with 137 points.  


Class B Boys

Kyle Olson (Rocky Boy) dominated the individual race with a time of 16:12.30.  Paden Alexander (St. Ignatius) was 2nd in 16:43.10 and Logan Morley (Bigfork) was 3rd in 17:07.50.  In the team race Red Lodge won with 102 points and a nice 33 second spread.  Manhattan was 2nd with 115 points and Glasgow finished 3rd with 190 points.  


Class B Girls

Makena Morley, a Bigfork soph, won big with a time of 18:13.10, the 2nd fastest time of the day.  Chiara Warner (Broadwater) finished 2nd in 18:33.90 and Layne Oliver (Three Forks) finished 3rd in 19:57.10.  Glasgow won the team crown with 62 points over Colstrip, 103 points.  Loyola Sacred Heart finished 3rd with 108 points.  


Class C Boys

Chance Hyatt (Culbertson) won the individual crown with a clocking of 16:59.20.  Tristen Guillot (Twin Bridges) was 2nd in 17:03.40 and teammate Andrew George was 3rd in 17:11.30.  Culbertson took the team crown with just 18 points after placing 4 runners in the top-14.  Twin Bridges placed 2nd with 30 points and Darby was 3rd with 56 points.  


Class C Girls

Jessica George, a frosh from Twin Bridges, took top honors with a time of 19:47.10.  Camille Ponyah (Northern Cheyenne), also a frosh, was 2nd in 20:05.90.  Nikki Aiken (Manhattan Christian) snagged the last podium spot with a time of 20:09.90.  Twin Bridges won the team race over Belt 13 to 16 with Northern Cheyenne 3rd with 42 points.